Counseling Services


Position First Name Last Name Ext Email
Secretary Shirley Goncalves 2360 sgoncalves@bergenfield.org
Guidance Counselor Marybeth Iorio 2363 miorio@bergenfield.org
Guidance Counselor Michael Merlo 2362 mmerlo@bergenfield.org
Guidance Counselor Lana Restivo 2361 lrestivo@bergenfield.org
Guidance Secretary Karina Meneses 2360 kmeneses@bergenfield.org
Learning Consultant Liz Shoulman 4350 lshoulman@bergenfield.org
School Psychologist Betty Madariaga 2350 bmadariaga@bergenfield.org
Social Worker Liandra Aptekar 2351 laptekar@bergenfield.org
  • Mission Statement

    The mission of the Department of Guidance and Counseling Services is to assist students in maximizing their potential. Each counselor is specially trained to assist students and their parents in educational and career planning. They are also available to help each student with their individual, social, and emotional development. It is the aim of each counselor to help each student make the most of the opportunities at Roy W. Brown Middle School, to know him/herself better, to develop a positive self-image and to leave RWB with realistic high school plans.

    Counselors
    All students have their own guidance counselor who continues working with them for the three years they are in the middle school. Your guidance counselors are here to provide you with guidance and counseling in many different areas. These may include:

    • Academic Planning

    • Problems with school work and classes

    • Social or personal problems

    • Family and home issues

    • Grief Counseling
    • Your counselors can provide individual or group counseling, depending on the situation.

    Meeting with Your Counselor
    Your counselors are available to meet with you before school, during the day, and after school. If you need to speak with your counselor during the school day, please report to your class first for attendance and then ask your teacher for a pass to the Guidance Office.

    School Psychologist
    The School Psychologist works with students in both the general education and special education setting, completes psychological/cognitive evaluations, sees students for counseling, and works with the staff and students on reducing bullying. The School Psychologist is involved in handling crisis situations and is available to formulate behavior management systems for classrooms and individual students. For more information on groups, please click here.


    School Social Worker
    The School Social Worker is available to any students and families in crisis, as well as to students with special needs.

    *If a parent/guardian does not wish for his/her child to participate in counseling groups,

    a written letter must be sent to the Guidance Office at the start of the school year.*

     

    Useful Links:

    Naviance

    RWB College and Career

    RWB Program of Studies - Grade 06

    RWB Program of Studies - Grade 07

    RWB Program of Studies - Grade 08

    RWB Guidance Resources

    RWB Transitions

    District Guidance Site